Home > About Us > PI Planning Group

PI Planning Group

In 2011, the University Social Responsiveness Committee established a Poverty and Inequality Planning Group (PIPG)

The PIPG comprises the following members:

 Alan Hirsch 

Director of the Graduate School of Development Policy and Practice

Ari Sitas

Head of Department; Professor Sociology

Ariane De Lannoy

Senior Researcher Poverty & Inequality Initiative

Britta Rennkamp

Researcher: Energy, Environment and Climate Change

Caroline Skinner

Senior Researcher; Urban Policies Programme Director

Dee Smythe

Director of the Centre for Law and Society & Professor of Public Law

Diane McIntyre

SA Research Chair 'Health & Wealth'; Professor School of Public Health & Family Medicine

Edgar Pieterse

SA Research Chair 'Urban Policy'; Director ACC

Francis Wilson

Honorary Research Associate SALDRU

Francois Bonnici

Director Bertha Centre for Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship

George Hull

Lecturer Philosophy


Haajirah Esau

Project Administrator

Haroon Bhorat

Director Development Policy and Research Unit

Harro von Blottnitz

Professor Dept Chemical Engineering

Horman Chitonge

Associate Professor CAS

Iain Low

Professor Architecture

Ingrid Woolard

Dean Faculty Commerce

Janice McMillan

Senior Lecturer CILT

John Ataguba

Senior Lecturer

John Parkington

Emeritus Professor Department Archaeology

Jon Clarke

Director Schools Improvement Initiative

Judith Cornell

Director institutional development and planning

Judy Favish

Director Institutional Planning

Justine Burns

Professor School of Economics

Kath Hall

Senior Researcher Children's Institute

Laura Poswell

Executive Director for J-PAL at SALDRU

Lungisile Ntsebeza

AC Jordan Chair and Director Centre for African Studies

Martine Visser

Professor School of Economics

Matthias Kronke

Research Assistant

Max Price

Vice-Chancellor UCT


Murray Leibbrandt

Pro-VC Poverty & Inequality; Director SALDRU

Patti Silbert

Schools Improvement Initiative Project Manager

Roshan Galvaan

Head of Division and Senior Lecturer

Sonwabo Ncgelwane

Senior Planning Officer Social Responsiveness

Solange Rosa

Public Policy Professional

Viviene Taylor

Associate Professor and Head of Department, Department of Social Development