Search

Home > About Us > PI Planning Group

PI Planning Group

In 2011, the University Social Responsiveness Committee established a Poverty and Inequality Planning Group (PIPG).

Currently, the PIPG comprises the following members:

 Alan Hirsch 

Director: The Nelson Mandela School of Public Governance

alan.hirsch@uct.ac.za

Ari Sitas

Head of Department; Professor of Sociology

ari.sitas@uct.ac.za

Ariane De Lannoy

Chief Research Officer: Southern Africa Labour and Development Research Unit

ariane.delannoy@uct.ac.za

Britta Rennkamp

Senior Researcher: Energy, Environment and Climate Change Group; Senior Fellow: African Climate and Development Initiative

britta.rennkamp@uct.ac.za

Caroline Skinner

Senior Researcher; Director: Urban Policies Programme, African Centre for Cities 

caroline.skinner@uct.ac.za

Charmaine Smith

Part-time Communication Manager

charmaine.smith@uct.ac.za

Dee Smythe

Deputy Dean for Research: Law Faculty; Professor of Public Law

dee.smythe@uct.ac.za

Diane McIntyre

Emeritus Professor; formerly School of Public Health & Family Medicine

diane.mcintyre@uct.ac.za

Edgar Pieterse

DST-NRF Research Chair 'Urban Policy'; Director: African Centre for Cities

edgar.pieterse@uct.ac.za

Francis Wilson

Emeritus Professor: formerly Southern Africa Labour and Development Research Unit 

francis.wilson@uct.ac.za

George Hull

Senior Lecturer: Philosophy

george.hull@uct.ac.za

 

Haajirah Esau

PII Project Administrator

haajirah.esau@uct.ac.za

Haroon Bhorat

Director: Development Policy and Research Unit

haroon.bhorat@uct.ac.za

Harro von Blottnitz

Professor: Department of Chemical Engineering

harro.vonblottnitz@uct.ac.za

Horman Chitonge

Associate Professor: Centre for African Studies

horman.chitonge@uct.ac.za

Iain Low

Professor: Architecture

iain.low@uct.ac.za

Ingrid Woolard

Research associate: Southern Africa Labour and Development Research Unit

ingrid.woolard@gmail.com

Janice McMillan

Senior Lecturer: Centre for Innovation in Learning and Teaching

janice.mcmillan@uct.ac.za

John Ataguba

Associate Professor; School of Public Health & Family Medicine

john.ataguba@uct.ac.za

John Parkington

Emeritus Professor: Archaeology Department

john.parkington@uct.ac.za

Jon Clarke

Director: Schools Improvement Initiative

jon.clarke@uct.ac.za

Judy Favish

Research associate; Southern Africa Labour Development Research Unit

judy.favish@uct.ac.za

Justine Burns

Professor; School of Economics

justine.burns@uct.ac.za

Kath Hall

Senior Researcher; Children's Institute

kath.hall@uct.ac.za

Laura Poswell

Executive Director; J-PAL Africa; Southern Africa Labour and Development Research Unit

lposwell@povertyactionlab.org

Lungisile Ntsebeza

AC Jordan Chair; Director: Centre for African Studies

lungisile.ntsebeza@uct.ac.za

Martine Visser

Professor: School of Economics

martine.visser@uct.ac.za

Matthias Kronke

Research Assistant

KRNMAT001@myuct.ac.za

Murray Leibbrandt

Pro Vice Chancellor Poverty & Inequality; Director: Southern Africa Labour and Development Research Unit

murray.leibbrandt@uct.ac.za

Patti Silbert

Project Manager; Schools Improvement Initiative

patti.silbert@uct.ac.za

Roshan Galvaan

Professor: Department of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences

roshan.galvaan@uct.ac.za

Sonwabo Ncgelwane

Research and Development Coordinator: Social Responsiveness

sonwabo.ncgelwane@uct.ac.za

Solange Rosa

Public Policy Professional

solange2rosa@gmail.com

Viviene Taylor

Associate Professor; Head of Department: Social Development

viviene.taylor@uct.ac.za